Historic mining town of Como

Como is today and was a tiny mountain town founded by prospectors seeking gold in the 1859 during the Colorado gold rush.  As ranchers homesteaded South Park, Como grew to include a post office, store, saloons and cemetery. In 1881 the Denver, South Park & Pacific Railroad (South Park Line) chose Como as their division point.  They built a round house - which remains today, maintenance yards, depot, restaurant and hotel.  The population exploded to about 500, with twice that many trains crewmen and passengers in town at any given time. 

The South Park high line over Boreas Pass, through Breckenridge, then over Fremont Pass to Leadville functioned until 1937.  The pass is now open seasonally to passenger cars, hikers and mountain bikers.  An old water "Bakers Tank" still stands along this challenging mountain pass.  

Today Como is home to a handful of ranchers, miners and annually attracts hunters and anglers to explore all the area reservoirs, National Forests and endless nature to explore.  In late summer Como celebrates it's rich mining history with a Mountain Man Rendezvous. This rendezvous is a pre-1840’s fur trade rendezvous re-enactment.

Como, Colorado


Summit County listings last updated Jun 17, 2024 3:23:am.